Medicaid/Medicare Plans

Indiana has multiple programs that you can qualify for that will benefit you when seeking medical and mental health services. You can start your application online and you will be led to the most appropriate plan.  There are also navigators that can help.  Call us to ask for assistance.

Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP)

The Healthy Indiana Plan (HIP) covers Hoosiers ages 19 to 64 without disabilities who meet specific income levels. It pays for medical costs for members (including mental health and addiction services) and could even provide vision and dental coverage. It also rewards members for taking better care of their health. 

To qualify for HIP Basic or HIP Plus, you have to:

  • Be between 19 and 64 years old
  • Not have a disability
  • Be within the following income guidelines:
Household SizeMonthly Income Limit for HIP Basic EligibilityMonthly Income Limit for HIP Plus Eligibility*
Find your Income Eligibility
Find Plan Information and How to Apply
Medically Frail

You may also qualify if you are Medically frail. Having a condition on this list does not guarantee you will be considered frail. Severity of your condition may also be evaluated.


  • Cancer: includes all cancers subject to the 150 point limit
  • Aplastic Anemia
  • Cerebral vascular accidents
  • Transplant or transplant wait list for heart, lung, liver, kidney or bone marrow
  • Blood clotting disorders, frequent blood transfusions
  • Lipid storage diseases: Tay Sach’s disease, Nieman Pick disease, Fabry’s disease
  • Primary immune deficiencies: DiGeorge syndrome, combined immune deficiency, Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome, T-cell deficiency
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Primary pulmonary hypertension
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Cirrhosis
  • Chronic hepatitis B or hepatitis C
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Diabetes mellitus with: ketoacidosis, hypersmolar coma, renal complications, retinopathy, peripheral vascular complications, or coronary artery disease
  • Renal failure / end stage renal disease
  • CMV retinitis
  • Tuberculosis
  • Paraplegia or quadriplegia

Mental Health

  • Alcohol and substance abuse
  • Mental illness including major depression, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder or post-traumatic stress disorder

Activities of Daily Living

  • Need assistance in an activity of daily living
    • 24 hour supervision and/or direct assistance to maintain safety due to confusion and/or disorientation
    • Turning or repositioning every 2 to 4 hours to prevent skin breakdown per medical plan of care
    • 24 hour monitoring of a health care plan by a licensed nurse
    • Eating
    • Transferring from bed or chair
    • Dressing
    • Bathing
    • Using the toilet
    • Walking or using a wheelchair

Hoosier Healthwise

Hoosier Healthwise is a health care program for children up to age 19 and pregnant women. The program covers medical care such as doctor visits, prescription medicine, mental health care, dental care, hospitalizations, and surgeries at little or no cost to the member or the member’s family.

The Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

The Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) falls under the Hoosier Healthwise program. CHIP is for children up to age 19 whose families have slightly higher incomes. In CHIP, members are required to pay a low monthly premium for coverage as well as copays for certain services.

Hoosier Care Connect

Hoosier Care Connect is a health care program for individuals who are not eligible for Medicare, including:

  • Aged individuals
  • Blind individuals
  • Disabled individuals
  • Individuals receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Individuals enrolled through M.E.D. Works
Hoosier Care Eligibility

Traditional Medicaid

Traditional Medicaid provides full health care coverage to individuals with low income. Eligibility is based on the member’s aid category. Members in the following categories will be covered by Traditional Medicaid:

  • Members eligible for home and community-based services
  • Members who are dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid
  • Members in nursing homes, intermediate care facilities for the intellectually disabled, and state-operated facilities
Traditional Medicaid Eligibility

Eligibility can very depending on the category where you belong. Please, look here for more information:


Generally, Medicare is available for people age 65 or older, younger people with disabilities and people with End Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or transplant). Medicare has two parts, Part A (Hospital Insurance) and Part B (Medicare Insurance).

Medicare Eligibility

See if you qualify here